Reviews

Reviews of La Haute & La Vienne:

leafs 001 La Haute

Everything that we could possibly need

Date of stay: June 2019

“We have had a wonderful week staying in this charming gite.  Thank you for your very warm welcome and for providing us with everything that we could possibly need.  The area has been just what we wanted with interesting places to visit and lots of good walks for our dog.”

Alan, Nora (and Teddy, the dog)

leafs 001 La Vienne

Hope to come back soon

Date of stay: June 2019

“It was a pleasure meeting you and staying at your gite.  The house is charming and incredibly decorated with so much attention to details.  We wish you all the best and hope to come back soon! “

Younes, friends & families

leafs 001 La Vienne

Beautiful gite

Date of stay: May 2019

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay in this beautiful gite.  Will recommend to family and friends.  Hope to return.”

Clare & Steve

leafs 001 La Vienne

Happy to return again

Date of stay: New Year 2019

“Thank you for your welcome and all of your attentions.  We had a pleasant stay in your charming house.  We will be happy to return again; may this year, 2019 be filled with happiness.”

Marjorie, Johnny, Frederik, Laune, Hugo, Lena et Baptiste

leafs 001 La Vienne

A wonderful time

Date of stay: October 2018

“We’ve had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed your gite.  We keep discovering interesting artefacts!  The girls loved the birds nests in the walls, and the garden was a real hit too!  Thanks for your attention to detail, we have really appreciated it.”

Michelle, Steve, Vivi & Ella

leafs 001 La Vienne

Its like no place we have stayed before

Date of stay: October 2018

“We are so glad Trish found this gem of a place.  Its like no other place we have stayed before with all your quirky furnishings and artistic flair, we loved it.  Your hospitality and advice has been amazing, we only hope it wont be too long before we are back in the area with the rest of the family.”

Lisa & Steve

leafs 001 La Vienne

A thoroughly wonderful relaxing stay

Date of stay: September 2018

“We have had a thoroughly wonderful relaxing 10 days staying in your beautiful gite.  The peace tranquility and warmth of the area is amazing, as is the spectacle of the night sky.  Your gite is so lovely and filled with lots and lots of superb and quirky touches.  Thank you for your hospitality and friendliness.  We will be back to see you again soon”

Nina & Lyndon

leafs 001 La Vienne

A superb holiday

Date of stay: August 2018

“We have had a superb holiday; very relaxing but with plenty of different areas to visit.  The gite is absolutely lovely and very accommodating, with everything you could possibly need and more.  Julie and Keith are great and helpful hosts, with nothing being too much trouble.  Thanks for the extra maps!  Many, many thanks on a successful first holiday in France”

David, Michelle & Iris

leafs 001 La Vienne

A fantastic stay

Date of stay: August 2018

“What a fantastic stay; the gite is a real credit to you both.  You have both been wonderful hosts, we wish you ongoing success with the business.  Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.”

Chris, Jane & family

leafs 001 La Haute

Superb stay in such a lovely gite

Date of stay: August 2018

“Tom & I had a superb stay in such a lovely gite ~ it has been a real pleasure staying here and thank you so much for looking after us so well.  All the best for the future and hopefully see you again”

Jonathan and Tom

leafs 001 La Vienne

Our third stay

Date of stay: July 2018

“Our third stay was as wonderful as ever.  Apart from the wonderfully appointed gite we had some new highlights this year including the beach at St Estephe; Keith and Julie were as wonderful hosts as ever.  Many thanks again, try to stay cool!”

Lloyd, Helen & family (returning)

leafs 001 La Haute

Thank you for everything

Date of stay: July 2018

We had a wonderful stay.  Really everything was available.  You did a wonderful job decorating.  Everything looks really cozy!  We hope the next guests will enjoy their stay as much as we did, we wish you lots of success with the gites”

Marijke, Rob, Lynde: and Saartje the dog!

leafs 001 La Vienne

Refreshed and uplifted

Date of stay: June 2018

“We have had a wonderful stay at La Besse.  The gite truly has everything we needed and is such a beautifully conceived living space we have been refreshed and uplifted by our short visit”

Carrie & Niamh

leafs 001 La Vienne

The gite was excellent

Date of stay: June / July 2018

“Merci bien pour un séjour très agréable.  The gite was excellent and the surroundings lovely and relaxing”

Peter, Clare, Julia, Nick, Chris & Ann; and Taz the dog!

leafs 001 La Vienne

Lovely gite

Date of stay: June 2018

“Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely gite.  We have really enjoyed ourselves and thank you for giving up your time to show us around.  It was great catching up with you all.  Take care and carry on with what you are doing”

Kev & Lorraine

leafs 001 La Vienne

Five star quality

Date of stay: June 2018

“We have both really enjoyed your gite and your hospitality for the third year running ~ we cannot better our previous comments ~ except to write that you deserve a successful future with the high standards of care for your guests.  You provide a five star quality for a reasonable price”

Malcolm & Glyn (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

Came for one month, stayed for several !

Date of stay: November 2017 …

“I can’t thank you both enough for your kindness and ever present hospitality.  I came here at a very difficult time in my life and that speaks for itself.  Thank you both and good luck”

Richard (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

The gite is fabulous

Date of stay: September 2017

“Thank you so much for a wonderful warm welcome.  The gite is fabulous.  You really have thought of everything!  The facilities were first class and have set the standard for all other self catering holiday lets.  The area is so attractive and with the manual you have assembled we were able to explore and enjoy some amazing places.”

Estelle, John, Audrey, Ray, Polly & Paul

leafs 001 La Vienne

Another lovely week in this wonderful gite

Date of stay: August 2017

“Another lovely week in this wonderful gite.  As ever a great place to stay, both the gite and the area.  We really enjoyed catching up with Julie & Keith again.  Swimming in the lakes was one of our favourite activities and the walk (Videix) was great.  We will be back!”

Helen, Lloyd, Miranda & Bella (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

What a wonderful find!

Date of stay: August 2017

“Thank you so much for the use of your lovely gite over the last week.  What a wonderful find!  Your help and hospitality were as warm as the weather and we had a fantastic time lazing the days away in the locality.  We loved the small beaches and the local towns and leave feeling relaxed and refreshed.  We really appreciated all your help and advice no problem too small or big, and your local knowledge helped make our stay even more memorable.  All the best for the future”

Pat & family

leafs 001 La Vienne

Great to return to the luxurious surroundings

Date of stay: August 2017

“Thank you both for a wonderful week in the gite.  Despite the weather we found lots to do and it was always great to return to the luxurious surroundings.  The best equipped and most thoughtfully decorated holiday home we have stayed in.  Wishing you all the best in the future.”

Jeremy, Debs & Martha

leafs 001 La Vienne

One of the best gites we have had the pleasure of staying in

Date of stay: July 2017

“Thanks Julie & Keith for our excellent stay in your beautiful gite.  So well equipped with everything you need.  Thanks also for your excellent hosting ~ available when needed but not intrusive ~ you get the balance just right. The welcome pack on arrival was much appreciated.  Lots to see and do in the area; on hot days a swim in the nearby lake is a must.  We have been coming to France for nearly 25 years ~ this is one of the best gites we have had the pleasure of staying in.”

Jon, Alison & Anna

leafs 001 La Vienne

Just perfect

Date of stay: June 2017

“Two very happy weeks spent in your lovely gite, in this beautiful part of France.  Thank you for your hospitality ~ just perfect.”

Chris & Hilary

leafs 001 La Vienne

Would recommend this gite to anyone

Date of stay: June 2017

“Another great stay at Gites Limousin where Julie has done everything to provide comfort for us.  Thoroughly enjoyed our sunny week here and would recommend this gite to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat in the countryside”

Malcolm & Glyn (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

The gite is perfect

Date of stay: June 2017

“Thank you Julie & Keith for a wonderful two weeks stay in your beautiful gite.  We did lots of sightseeing, walking and relaxing ~ couldn’t ask for a better combination.  The gite is perfect and we loved the personal touches ~ too many to mention.  However, our arrival was special with more than the basic needs provided”

John & Anne

leafs 001 La Vienne

Feeling completely relaxed after a week of utter tranquility

Date of stay: December 2016

“Thanks for a fantastics weeks holiday.  We have been comfortable and cozy all week due to the generous hospitality of our hosts.  We are feeling completely relaxed after a week of utter tranquility.”

Stephen, Elaine & Vera

leafs 001 La Vienne

The most beautifully decorated gite we have ever stayed in

Date of stay: December 2016

“We have enjoyed unseasonably gorgeous weather in the most beautifully decorated gite we have ever stayed in.  So sad we couldn’t have bought more items, though we love what we have chosen.  Thanks too for your generosity and for telling us all about the local brocantes which we loved and would never have discovered without you.  A bientot!”

Fiona & Roger

leafs 001 La Vienne

We keep coming back so you’re obviously doing something right

Date of stay: October 2016

“Thanks again for a lovely stay.  We keep coming back so you’re obviously doing something right!  The gite is fantastic (again).  The area is fantastic (again).  The hosts are fantastic (again).  ’nuff said”

Richard & Paddy (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

The gite is absolutely perfect

Date of stay: September 2016

” What a wonderful week we have had in your perfect little corner of France.  The gite is absolutely perfect and makes a change from the ‘oh so predictable’ rentals that are offered these days; all the extra special touches and beautiful quirky pieces.  We have been incredibly lucky with the weather this week, the only down side is that we have been so busy we haven’t had time to relax and unwind.  I have no doubt we will be back again soon.  Thank you”

Susi & Nigel

leafs 001 La Vienne

We’ve enjoyed every minute of our time here

Date of stay: September 2016

“We have all thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing weeks stay in your lovely gite spotting something daily thats not been noticed before.  We’ve loved wandering around the nearby towns experiencing different cultures.  Thank you for being fabulous hosts; we’ve enjoyed every minute of our time here.  Take care and see you soon!”

Jan, Leon, Rebecca & Alex

leafs 001 La Vienne

We’ll spread the word

Date of stay: August 2016

“We had a great week in this beautifully furnished and decorated gite.  We discovered another nice detail everyday.  Thanks for your friendly welcome, your hospitality and nice conversation we had on our last evening.  We’ll spread the word!”

Altwin & Judith

leafs 001 La Vienne

So many things to do in the area

Date of stay: August 2016

“We have absolutely loved our time in your fabulous gite, the most beautifully furnished by far!  So many things to do in the area & we loved the swimming beaches in particular.  Angouleme is definitely worth a visit too ~ great choice of restaurants.  Thanks for the suggestion to go to the night market at St Mathieu, it was a great evening.  We hope to return soon to this beautiful area & gite”

Helen, Lloyd, Guy, Miranda & Bella

leafs 001 La Vienne

Fantastic area to visit

Date of stay: August 2016

“The Jefferys family has had a marvellous time.  Beautiful gite, lovely hosts and a fantastic area to visit!”

Clive, Joanna, Emer & Owen

leafs 001 La Vienne

Our second holiday to your amazing gite

Date of stay: July 2016

“We have thoroughly enjoyed our second holiday to your amazing gite ~ we were even blessed with sunshine everyday.  Thanks to your local knowledge we explored some different picturesque towns and we even managed to find some other beautiful swimming lakes close by.  The garden activities continued to be a great hit especially the table tennis tournaments we had most nights and the archery set, which we plan to stop off and buy one on our way home as a reminder of our fun evenings.  It was lovely to see you both again and catch up, your warm welcome and hospitality is sure to have us return again”

Amanda, Paul, Kyla & Kieran (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

Great place for cooking, eating and relaxing

Date of stay: July 2016

“We have very much enjoyed our family holiday in France this year.  The lake has given us some good swimming, boating and relaxing.  The local towns have given us some enjoyable days out and for us to practice our French!  We have very much enjoyed your gite, which is a great place for cooking and eating and relaxing.  The garden has been a great place for archery and boules.  Thank you to you both for being such perfect hosts our summer holiday of 2016 has been one of our best.  Thanks”

Marty, Tracey, Annabel & Finlay

leafs 001 La Vienne

Pretty and yet so practical

Date of stay: July 2016

“We had a really lovely time here ~ the gite is so pretty yet so practical!  You were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for you.  We will definitely be back!”

Rob & Karen

leafs 001 La Vienne

Home from home

Date of stay: June 2016

“We have had a wonderful time in your lovely gite.  We were made to feel very welcome.  It’s a real home from home and our purchases will serve as a reminder of a fantastic holiday at La Besse.”

Steph, Kate & Rosemary

leafs 001 La Vienne

Everything we needed

Date of stay: June 2016

“We’ve had a lovely couple of weeks here.  Gite is very comfortable and has everything we needed”

Colin & Donna

leafs 001 La Vienne

Get away from the stresses of city life

Date of stay: May 2016

” Despite the unseasonably damp weather, we have enjoyed our stay in your gite and would commend it to anyone who wants to get away from the stresses of city life ~ a perfect country retreat in the bocage of the Haute-Vienne and you have thought of everything to make our week so pleasant”

Mac & Glynn

leafs 001 La Vienne

Cozy evenings in

Date of stay: February 2016

“We have had a wonderful time here in your lovely gite; the log burner is awesome!  We’ve had some cozy evenings in, cooking and drinking wine ~ there is everything you could possibly need in the kitchen, and there’s a bath big enough for two!  Keith and Julie have been wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome and at home.  A great week!”

Ian & Liz

leafs 001 La Vienne

The best place we have stayed so far in France

Date of stay: January 2016

“We have had a brilliant time here, your gite is comfortable and stylish and meets all you requirements and more.  You have been amazing hosts and helpful in every way possible, and we mean it when we say this is the best place we have stayed so far in France, and that is down to you.  Thank you for everything”

Teresa & Ben

leafs 001 La Vienne

Perfect Autumn retreat

Date of stay: November 2015

“Thank you for being the warmest, most welcoming and considerate hosts.  We would just like to tell you how much we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Your gite is truly beautiful and cozy – a perfect autumn retreat.  We will most definitely see you again soon!”

Luke & Robyn

leafs 001 La Vienne

We have just stayed another 2 weeks 

Date of stay: September 2015

“We were here in June for 2 weeks and we have just stayed another 2 weeks in September. A big thank you to Keith & Julie for being such lovely hosts. The gite continues to be quirky & charming and we’re looking forward to our next visit to see the Brocanterie!! Thanks again”

Richard & Paddy (returning)

leafs 001 La Vienne

An ideal relaxing holiday

Date of stay: September 2015

“Limousin in general and La Vienne in particular have been an ideal relaxing holiday with life being lived at a leisurely pace. The gite is comfortable and its quirky decor is appealing. It has been well equipped with great attention to detail and the variety of guide books and leaflets provided is guaranteed to cater for all tastes. Personally we have enjoyed the opportunity to explore the pleasant countryside by following a number of the walking routes. Julie & Keith even laid on a sunny week in September! Many thanks to you both.”

John & Isobel

leafs 001 La Vienne

One of the best family holidays ever

Date of stay: August 2015

“What a wonderful, quirky but homely gite. Its peacefulness, and lovely surroundings have allowed us to have one of the best family holidays ever. The children loved the garden and exploring the surroundings in a safe environment. We loved allowing the children the gift of freedom. The outdoor life suited us more than we ever thought. You are fantastic hosts ~ the provisions on arrival, the warm welcome.  Thank you both”

Steve, Tanya, Cai & Erin

leafs 001 La Vienne

Beautiful (that word again!)

Date of stay: August 2015

“Thanks for an incredible warm welcome. We have loved staying in your beautiful gite with so many interesting touches and thoughtful inclusions. You’ve both been really helpful which has made our stay even better. The area is so beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring on the hired bikes you suggested. Orador-sur-Glane is a must!! The lake is beautiful (that word agin!) and the castles where great. Thanks again for your hospitality”

Andy, Kate, Rosa & Jed

leafs 001 La Vienne

Beautiful gite

Date of stay: August 2015

“We thank you for our wonderful stay in France, made all the better with the beautiful gite. Even with the ‘not so sunny’ weather there was plenty of family activities in the area and within the accommodation. Our eldest has fallen for monopoly. Thank you for being wonderful hosts, we will certainly be recommending the gite to our friends and family”

Lance, Toni, Iestyn & Iolo,

leafs 001 La Vienne

I wanted to stay longer

Date of stay: August 2015

“Thank you for making our stay in France so enjoyable. I can honestly say this is the first holiday where I have wanted to stay longer, being such a home bird! The style of the gite is stunning loved the marriage between the old and new. The gite has been superbly designed, adding to our comfort. To top everything off we thoroughly enjoyed our table tennis rallies (something we haven’t played for years) we couldn’t have wished for better hosts, such a warm welcome.  Your friendliness continued throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble”

Brett, Wenna & Sam

leafs 001 La Vienne

Traditional yet quirky

Date of stay: July 2015

“Thank you for making our stay in this traditional, yet quirky gite so enjoyable. You have both ensured our first family holiday in France was an amazing experience. Your warm welcome, friendliness and helpful attitude made us feel at home immediately. It is a truly stunning place you have here, decorated to a high standard with everything we needed and more. You have thought of everything, the variety of games to take to the lake were well used and the table tennis was a real hit! We couldn’t have hoped for a better place to stay”

Paul, Amanda, Kyla & Kieran

leafs 001 La Vienne

Stunning and tranquil break

Date of stay: July 2015

“What a beautiful gite, in such a idyllic area. It was home for home (except much more tastefully decorated than we ever could manage!) and had everything you could possibly need, including picnic set and garden. A swimming lake is not far and we went every day, so we didn’t miss having a pool. We had a wonderful week away and Keith and Julie couldn’t have made us feel more welcome”

Steve & Ellie

leafs 001 La Vienne

Perfection – Vraiment Parfait!

Date of stay: June 2015

“My wife and I stayed at La Vienne for a couple weeks over May and June 2015 and we are delighted with the choice we made. This is a beautiful Gite by any standards. It is tastefully furnished and accessorised with charming items many of which are for sale – so we returned to the UK with several items which were simply irresistible! Everything you could possibly need is available – including crisp white freshly laundered towels that epitomise the overall high standard of cleanliness. Faultless xx La Haute”

Richard & Paddy

leafs 001 La Vienne

Wonderful atmosphere

Date of stay: April 2015

“A wonderful week at La Vienne, we have loved getting to know you and the Limousin, we have felt so at home and comfortable here. You have made such a fantastic place with a wonderful atmosphere. Thank you for all your kindness, help and advise, the girls have loved every minute and would move in tomorrow”

Jonny, Miranda, Poppy & Miriam

leafs 001 La Vienne

Delightful

Date of stay: February 2015

“My wife and I had the good fortune to select La Vienne for a ten day break. The accommodation was of a very high standard with everything necessary to provide an extremely comfortable, relaxing and cosy environment. Coupled with the excellent property, our hosts, Keith and Julie proved to be wonderful “neighbours” who attended to any queries that we might have had with warmth and friendliness – without intrusion. Our thanks to them both for making our stay so memorable”

Bruce & Margaret

leafs 001 

Translate »